Tuesday, 04 December 2012 00:11

Collin Klein one of three Heisman finalists

Written by Jay Beck
Collin Klein would be the first ever Kansas State player to win the Heisman. Collin Klein would be the first ever Kansas State player to win the Heisman. US Presswire

Collin Klein is headed to the Big Apple, not that anyone is surprised by the news.

The Heisman Trust announced on Monday that the Kansas State quarterback is one of three finalists for the award along with Texas A&M quarterback, Johnny Manziel, and Notre Dame linebacker, Manti Te'o.

Klein capped another terrific season this past Saturday by beating Texas allowing Kansas State to capture their second ever Big 12 football title.

The senior from Loveland, Colorado finished his career as the all-time leader in Kansas State history with 55 rushing touchdowns including 22 during the 2012 season. He also threw for 2,490 yards this season with 15 touchdowns and seven interceptions while completing 66% of his passes.

Klein figures to have an uphill battle to win the award with the terrific season Manziel has put together at Texas A&M. And that's not to say Te'o is any slouch who finished the season with 103 tackles and would be the first ever defensive-only player to win the award.

Whether Klein wins the award or not, what he's meant to Kansas State over the past two seasons is undeniable. The Heisman award is given the country's best football player, yes, but there isn't a player in the country who has been more valuable to their team than Klein has been to Kansas State.

A quick story on Klein, I was at a game in Manhattan back in 2010 when the Wildcats were taking on Nebraska. The Huskers had the game well in hand and Bill Snyder put Klein into the game in relief of Carson Coffman. Coffman had struggled at times during the year and I remember thinking after watching Klein in mop up duty that the Wildcats didn't have many good options after Coffman. Man, was I wrong.

It was only four games later when he started against Texas and the rest is history.

If Manziel wins, he would be the first ever freshman to capture the award. Adrian Peterson came in second during his true freshman season and Michael Vick and Herschel Walker came in third during their freshman campaigns. That's some solid company to say the least.

Should Klein capture the award, he would be the first ever player from Kansas State to win the Heisman. It would also give the Big 12 their seventh Heisman winner, more than any other conference going back to the league's inception in 1996,

The winner of the Heisman trophy will be announced on Saturday night on ESPN at 7PM (CST).

Last modified on Tuesday, 04 December 2012 00:26
Jay Beck

Jay Beck

Follow on Twitter: @jaybeck12

For Nebraska related on twitter: @theseaofred

E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Add comment

    Follow turfburner on twitter Like Turfburner.com on facebook Subscribe to our RSS Feed

    General College Football

    Dr. Saturday

    The Matador Sports

    The Saturday Edge

    Kegs n' Eggs

    No 2 Minute Warning

    College Football Zealots

    Kody's Sports Korner

    Conference Specific

    Big East Coast Bias

    Saturday Down South (SEC)

    Holy Turf (Big 12 and SEC)

    Pacific Takes (Pac-12)

    Big 12 team sites are on the team specific pages



    Finish Line